Sabayon X review

I recently was wondering how the world of Sabayon was doing, seeing as they just released Sabayon 10. (Link to lxnay’s press release.) So I re-emerged Virtualbox, as I was having issues with it, which turned out to be a local issue. On all my VM’s that worked previously, I had to add the kernel parameters acpi=off.
I used Sabayon for a while, back from 5-6, and a little bit when 7 was released, but ended up switching back to pure Gentoo. But nonetheless, I always check up on what’s going on in the Sabayon world, because I help out, and like to keep up to date with the issues users run into, as well as just seeing what’s going on with them.
I downloaded a x86 CoreCDX, because it’s a small iso, and I am used to a minimal install.

First things first, the install process.


This is something that I’ve always found very convenient. It’s very clean, easy to use, and (hardly) no errors. I wanted to set up my own partitions, with /boot at 100MB, swap at 512MB, and the rest of the 16GB HDD (the amount of space I gave the VM’s hard drive) on /root so I ran the following command:

# cfdisk /dev/sda
# mke2fs -t ext2 /dev/sda1
# mke2fs -t ext4 /dev/sda3
# mkswap /dev/sda2 && swapon /dev/sda2
# installer

Then I went through the normal steps of the installer, set my hostname, root password, added a user, set user password, set time zone, and got that installed. It was very simple, and seemed to be even faster than normal (especially for a VM). And as always, very nice messages while waiting for it to finish installing. I was very happy with that, because it was a nice break from all the steps from installing Gentoo (though, I do like the stage3 install of Gentoo).

Booting into newly installed Sabayon.


I was greeted by LXDM, which is default for XFCE, LXDE, and their CoreCDX. It’s what I use, and is easily customizable. (lxde-base/lxdm) I kept the default theme for now. In my opinion, this is the best LXDM wallpaper Sabayon has ever used. The old ones were nice, but this one is very clean and simple. I really liked it. Very fast boot time and was dropped to LXDM very fast, I left VirtualBox minimized for about one minute or so, and it was at LXDM in that short time. My Gentoo laptop boots up in about 20 seconds, but for a kernel with a lot of modules, and in a VM with 1 GB of RAM, one minute is very fast, could have even been faster than that. Either way, +1 for Sabayon on that one.

Running first update (vital)


For one reason or another, people sometimes forget to update their systems. Now you can do this via a graphical user interface (gui) or via the command line interface (cli). I prefer to do it through cli, and it’s a very simple command (I had no updates as I was running a daily iso, and was already up to date):

sabayon anakin # equo update && equo upgrade && equo conf update

I don’t know why, but some people don’t seem to do this, this is very vital to your system as it’s a rolling distribution. If you want to keep up to date with it, you need to update your system. This is always the first thing I do if I install Sabayon (VM), it should be the first thing you do, either way. It will get you the newest packages and the latest and greatest in Sabayon.

Choosing a desktop environment.


Now as much as I love Fluxbox, I did not feel like using it this time around. I already run it part time on my laptop, and so I figured I’d go with my all time favorite of XFCE. This is as simple as installing the xfce-base/xfce4-meta package available in Entropy’s repos.

sabayon anakin # equo install xfce4-meta

(The previous screenshot shows xterm installing this package.) So I let that finish, and I booted into XFCE.


Again, very simple to do, and then XFCE shows up in my ‘Choose Desktop’ option on LXDM.

New addition, Rigo.


Rigo, the new gui frontend for Entropy. It is very simplistic, yet wields much power. You can update your system, install new packages and read news from Rigo.
I needed to install this package so I just ran:

sabayon anakin # equo install rigo

And I had it. It’s a very nice looking, fast working addition to Sabayon. So let’s look at installing packages from this, I chose to install winetricks(app-emulation/winetricks), because I just didn’t really know what other package to install to be completely honest. I found this package by searching wine in the search bar, and there it was:

So I clicked that, and clicked install and bam, installing it.

Even told me needed dependencies, and asked me if I’d like to proceed. (Sabayon has always been nice like that.) I would have to say that lxnay did a great job with Rigo. Hats off to him.

Final thoughts.


Since I installed a CoreCDX, I was given lynx as a default web browser (www-client/lynx), well, I didn’t want that so I went ahead and installed Chromium (www-client/chromium). I can say I was very satisfied how quickly it installed, and Sabayons prompt to “License agreements”. Three options, to either say you’d like to read the license, don’t install it, and my favorite (:P) “I’ve already read it, don’t ask again”. After I installed Chromium, I was good to go. All in all, I have to say Sabayon is becoming more and more impressive as time goes on, and I definitely will keep around my VM of it. Nothing against Sabayon, I just prefer using Gentoo. Definitely very happy with where lxnay and the Sabayon dev team are taking this project. It’s its own distro, and getting better day by day.

About anak1n

Gentoo Linux user.
This entry was posted in Linux and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sabayon X review

  1. Bosstiger says:

    Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

Leave a Reply

